Posted on

A Discussion on Lataifs/Chakras in Sufism Lataif-as-Sitta “the six subtleties”

A Discussion on Lataifs/Chakras in Sufism Lataif-as-Sitta (“the six subtleties”)


Drawing from Qur’anic verses, virtually all Sufis distinguish Lataif-as-Sitta (“the six subtleties”): Nafs, Qalb, Sirr, Ruh, Khafi, and Akhfa. These lataif (singular: latifa) designate various psychospiritual “organs” or, sometimes, faculties of sensory and suprasensory perception. They may be regarded as parts of the self in a similar manner to the way in which glands and organs are a part of the body. Similar theories in other belief systems contain vedic chakras or Chinese conventional.The video in this blog post has a in-depth Description of each Lataif-as-Sitta (“the six subtleties”) These six “organs” or faculties, as well as the purificative actions applied to them, include the fundamental orthodox Sufi doctrine.


LocationNameAssociated ColorState of ConsciousnessActivation Effects
Left side of bodyQalb
YellowTrue joy and delightActivation and realization connected with the transformation of a certain sector of the personality
Right side of bodyRuh
spirit or soul
RedTrue and real strengthIt is like the fire of Essence and requires the transformation of the personality referred to as the red death, or the freedom from fear of people
Solar plexusSirr
White or silverTrue willActivation of this center is often seen as the initial step or transition from the world of personality to the dimension of Essence
Forehead between and just above the eyebrowsKhafi
Shining blackPeace and absolute stillnessConnected to the black death, which is the state of annihilation of the sense of identity of the ego, which is the false self
Center of the chestAkhfa
more hidden
Emerald greenLoving-kindness and compassionConnected to the Pearl beyond price, the personal being

Content Protection by

Facebook Comments
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *